> MAC Football > MAC Bowl Game Extension

MAC sports fan shop

MAC Football by VanDelay Sports
MAC Football
MAC Basketball
MAC Message Boards
MAC Team Pages
Related MAC Sites
MAC Football Picks
MAC Sports Apparel
MAC Recruiting
Contact VanDelay


MAC Announces Four Year Contract Extension w/ Mobile Partner, The Bowl Through 2017

MAC vs. Sun Belt matchup continues through 2017 football bowl season


Cleveland, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced today a new four-year contract extension with long-time Mobile, Alabama bowl partner, the Bowl, through the 2017 football season.

“We are extremely happy to extend our long-established and successful bowl partnership with the Bowl and the city of Mobile,” said Dr. Jon Steinbrecher, MAC Commissioner. “Our membership, most importantly our student-athletes, coaches, administrators and fans, continually enjoy an outstanding experience with the bowl festivities and the hospitality provided by the Bowl, President Jerry Silverstein and the entire city of Mobile.”

A bowl partner with the MAC since 2001, the Mobile-based bowl was originally named the GMAC Bowl for nine years (2001-2009) before current bowl sponsor joined for the 2010 football season. has been bowl sponsor for the last two years (2010-11).


"Our relationships with both conferences continue to grow and mature and we are pleased to have them continue to be a part of our game. The MAC has been associated with our game for 12 years and the Sun Belt for three years. We have had many memorable games as evidenced by the TV ratings, our title sponsorship and games that have become instant classics on ESPN," said Jerry Silverstein, Bowl President.

"This game produced the 10th most memorable game in college football history. Fans, student athletes, alumni, and coaches continue to rave about their experience in Mobile. The city continues to support all of the events leading up to the game itself. Without the great support we receive from of the City of Mobile, the County, our title sponsor, and these two conferences, hosting these events would not be possible."

New to the partnership between the MAC and the Bowl will be an internship for the city of Mobile. This opportunity will be provided for one student from the MAC who has a career interest in city government or urban development to work with the city of Mobile beginning in 2013.

The MAC has an 8-3 record in 11 bowl games in Mobile, Ala. Last year, Northern Illinois defeated Arkansas State, 38-20 on Jan. 8, 2012, to win the Bowl.

> Check out the entire selection of MAC football merchandise & apparel online available through VanDelay Sports!

MAC Bowl History In Mobile, Ala.

2001 - GMAC Bowl - Marshall 64, East Carolina 61 2OT

2002 - GMAC Bowl - Marshall 38, Louisville 15

2003 - GMAC Bowl - Miami 49, Louisville 28

2004 - GMAC Bowl - Bowling Green 52, Memphis 35

2005 - GMAC Bowl - Toledo 45, UTEP 13

2006 - GMAC Bowl - Southern Miss 28, Ohio 7

2007 - GMAC Bowl - Tulsa 63, Bowling Green 7

2008 - GMAC Bowl - Tulsa 45, Ball State 13

2009 - GMAC Bowl - Central Michigan 44, Troy 41 2OT

2010 - Bowl - Miami 35, Middle Tennessee State 21

2011 - Bowl - Northern Illinois 38, Arkansas State 20



Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 11 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in six (6) states - Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio. In addition a 13th school – University of Massachusetts in Amherst, MA. -- is an affiliate member for football only.

Current MAC schools that hold full membership and the year they joined are -- East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947). The University of Massachusetts (2012) competes in the East Division in football only.

The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio.



Press Release Published 05/07/12