> MAC Football > MAC Football Conference Alignment

MAC sports fan shop

MAC Football by VanDelay Sports
MAC Football
MAC Basketball
MAC Message Boards
MAC Team Pages
Related MAC Sites
MAC Football Picks
MAC Sports Apparel
MAC Recruiting
Contact VanDelay


MAC Announces Divisional Alignment in Football for the 2012 Season

Bowling Green moves to the West Division as UMass joins the East Division beginning this fall


Cleveland, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced today a new divisional alignment in football beginning with the 2012 season as UMass joins the conference to bring the number of football membership to 14 beginning this fall. With the addition of UMass, who will compete in the East Division, Bowling Green State University will move to the MAC West Division.

The divisional alignment was a unanimous vote by the MAC Council of Presidents, as recommended by the Council of Director of Athletics. This alignment will be for football only.

MAC East: Akron; Buffalo; Kent State; UMass; Miami; Ohio and Temple.

MAC West: Ball State; Bowling Green; Central Michigan; Eastern Michigan; Northern Illinois; Toledo and Western Michigan.


“Ever since our announcement of the addition of UMass in football last spring, divisional alignment has been a topic of conversation among our Presidents and Directors of Athletics,” said Dr. Jon Steinbrecher, MAC Commissioner. “We considered a number of different paradigms and ultimately we focused on the core principles of geography, travel and rivalries. We now have a true rotational cycle for football and a scheduling model that will extend for future years.”

This will be the first time since 2006 that the MAC will have balanced divisional schedules. Each member will continue to play an eight-game conference schedule, however each member will now play six divisional games and two non-divisional cross-over games. There will no longer be protected cross-over games.

UMass will begin conference play for the 2012 football season and will be eligible for the conference football championship game and a bowl game beginning in the 2013 football season.

The conference office will announce the 2012 regular season football schedule by the first week of March.


> Check out the entire selection of MAC football merchandise & apparel online available through VanDelay Sports!


Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12 full-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 11 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in seven (7) states - Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio. In addition, two universities - Temple University in Philadelphia, Pa., and the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, Ma. -- are members for football only.

Current MAC schools that hold full membership and the year they joined are -- East Division: University of Akron (1992), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Bowling Green State University (1952), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947).

Temple University (2007) and the University of Massachusetts (2012) compete in football only. The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio.


Press Release Published January 04, 2012